e-brake relocation

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars VW Based Kits e-brake relocation

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    HappyJack
    Participant

@happyjack

About 6 months ago I had read EDSNOVA’s past post and his blog on how he relocated the emergency brake on Bridget, but thought it was too hard a task.

Well, I finally decided to give it a try.  Here’s the rest of the story:
    Out with the emergency brake assembly — I used a Dremel Tool with one (actually took 3) of the quick mount cutting wheels for the cut, and then cleaned up the edges with a 4 1/2″ angle grinder.  I looked at using my jig saw but getting it into the cramped space was problematic. Getting the nerve up to start the first cut was the hardest part.  
    I tried to leave just enough metal around the handle to let me attach the handle in the new location with sheet metal screws, since I’m not good at wire welding — and I wanted to be able to remove the e-brake assembly if something went wrong with my work.
    I cut out the new hole for the e-brake assay using my Dremel tool.  I kept the opening small enough to give me some mounting options.  I was able to save the stamped-in Chassis numbers that are under the piece of velcro on the left side of the picture — but just barely.  Next came cutting the brake cable tubes and bending them so the the cable would exit just behind the guide slots on the bottom go the e-brake handle…hard to do with the amount of room there is to work with.  Again, Ed’s post on his BLOG were really helpful.  I wound up using a cut off hack saw blade in a handle to cut the tubes to length…slow work but doable…