Future New Front End

Home Forums General Discussion Future New Front End

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    Participant

@mglondonroadste

This is a long-range goal for me, and I’m just starting out, looking for some ideas.  I believe that I’m looking at some significant work ahead, but the more that I can learn about it, the better I’ll feel, whether I do the work or pay a shop to do it for me.

I have a Fiberfab body on a custom frame (as best that I can call it).  The car was Mr. August in our 2012 calendar.  The rear end is a Nissan 240Z or 260Z and is powered with a Chevy 283 V8 that’s been bored out and beefed up.  It has an automatic transmission (“something” 400?).  But the front end is what I consider the weakest part, a Chevy Chevette.

The brakes on this little puppy are also very inadequate, in my opinion.  When I did have it out on the city roads, it was all that I could do to stomp on the brake pedal to keep the high torque engine from lurching forward when I was at a stop light.  I never felt comfortable driving it in the public.

With two major changes that I can see needed, I’m open to suggestions for changing out the front end and improving the brake system.   What are my options and what is this going to cost me?

Thanks.
    Gabor Kesseru
    Participant

@gkesseru