Ratio rockers

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars VW Based Kits Ratio rockers

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Royal
    Participant

@royal

In another thread about carburetion, I mentioned that I was considering “bolting on” some higher lift ratio rockers. I have no experience with them, but I can see how they might help the engine breathe and perhaps get a small boost.
    I have a good running 1600 single port, stock cam, Holley Bug Spray carb on an isolated runner manifold, EMPI 3487 exhaust, ported and polished heads with new valves and heads.
    Kent has offered that he thought I might expect a few hp boost and I’m “itchy” to do some tweaking on my own car, now that we are at the end of the tunnel on Happy Jack’s rebuild.

Does anyone else have any experience with 1.25 or 1.4 lift rockers in a stock SP setup? Prices seem to go from about $100 up to $300. If I could do it for $100 or so, I’d consider. Not $300 (I’d rather split the case and put a cam in).

I’m really hoping for some before-after kind of comparisons. Please share, thanks.Royal2016-01-11 06:14:55

edward ericson
    Participant

@edsnova

The single port intakes would appear to be the limiter here, Roy. 

KentT
    Participant

@kentt

I ran 1.25s on a stock dual port once, with an extractor exhaust and 30 PICT carb with adjustable main jet (too bad those neat adjustable main jets are no longer available!). There was a noticeable, though not huge difference in the “seat of the pants” dyno. With your other mods/tweaks, your engine should be set to take advantage of improved breathing. So, you should see a noticeable difference. (Your exhaust, though better than stock, will likely become your next bottleneck…