Straight six?

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars Chevy/Ford Kits Straight six?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Gene
    Participant

@wwmgtdff

Newbie here.  Just bought an unbuilt FiberFab Ford kit for less than what the grille shell is apparently worth.  So now a new learning curve begins.  (Have loved TDs since I was a whippersnapper, and several years ago I briefly owned a beautifully-built VW-based MiGi.  It was my daily driver except in snow.)

It seems I was blessed in acquiring the Ford kit from the standpoint of suspension and rear end.  What I’m pondering, though, is the practicality of stuffing a straight six under that long TD hood.  Quick research tells me that a late model Chev 230 with Powerglide is only a couple hundred pounds heavier than a Ford four-banger.  Fiberglass butchering is not an issue–I used to do that for a living.  My question is about how the car might handle, presuming the 230 would fit under the hood.  (It’s 10 inches longer than the four-cylinder.  Haven’t compared height or width.)

I did do a search but didn’t find anyone who has blazed this trail.  I’d appreciate your input.

John Simion
    Participant

@johnsimion

What is a “late model Chev 230 with Powerglide”?  Seems mutually exclusive since the Powerglide was last made in 1973 …

I think you have a great idea about putting the six in the car, but if I were you, I think I’d aim for something like a 240Z engine and transmission (or 260Z, 280Z, 280ZX, etc.) or maybe an old six-cylinder BMW engine/transmission.  Intuitively, those engines have GOT to be smaller and lighter than a “late model Chev 230 with Powerglide” and certainly a lot better transmission than a two-speed slushbox transmission.

ray10
    Participant

@ray10