Magneto for a VW engine

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars VW Based Kits Magneto for a VW engine

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    newkitman
    Participant

@newkitman

Being that I’m a pilot and love that the planes engines use a magneto and not need the4 battery to keep running, I was wondering if anyone has installed a magneto on their vw engine. And if so…where they found the magneto. I’ve searched the parts houses and have come up with nothing.

Allen Caron
    VW based 53MGTD - "MoneyPenny"
    "If one thing matters, everything matters" - from the book The Shack

edward ericson
    Participant

@edsnova

What’s the point? (get it?–nudge nudge) Go with a Pertronix & call it a “magneto” if you want. Normal automotive distributors’ll still run with no battery if your alternator/generator is turning. (ask me how I know). And if the generator quits you better pull over anyway since, unlike on an airplane, it usually means your fan isn’t turning & you’re about to overheat.

Here’s a tech article on your air-cooled VW’s many ignition choices. Not many folks think a magneto is called for on these, save the FAA (and maybe someone building a replica “Inch Pincher”)?

If you really need a magneto, with all its extra size and weight, go here. It’s only $1,400 plus shipping. Such a deal! Don’t forget to order a pinion gear too for another $26.

newkitman
    Participant

@newkitman

Ed, Thanks for the tech article. Interesting reading. I’ll probably stick with my 009 dizzy,1641 with dual 34mm carbs and doghouse oil cooler. I’d love to have a Bernie Bergman fan shroud but they too are very costly. BTW…Had a lead on a chassis but it fell through. I’ll keep looking. Stay warm out there!

Allen Caron

edward ericson
    Participant

@edsnova

Keep looking for that chassis, they’re out there.