Brake Master Cylinder

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars VW Based Kits Brake Master Cylinder

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    newkitman
    Participant

@newkitman

Question for all the VW based TDr folks. Which brake master cylinder do you use and how is yours wired? I have a dual brake master cylinder and have both brake switches installed but am only using one brake switch. I see no real need for using the other brake switch other than plugging the master cylinder. I don’t have the warning light and don’t think many TDrs have them. Nothing really important but just curious. Thanks.

Allen Caron
    VW based 53MGTD - "MoneyPenny"
    "If one thing matters, everything matters" - from the book The Shack

Paul Mossberg
    Keymaster

@pmossberg

VW master cylinder; with only the brake light switch wired.

Paul Mossberg
    Former Owner of a 1981 Classic Roadsters Ltd. Duchess (VW)
    2005 Intermeccanica Roadster

If you own a TDr and are not in the Registry, please go to https://tdreplica.com/forums/topic/mg-td-replica-registry/ and register (you need to copy and paste the link)

newkitman
    Participant

@newkitman

At this point in time I’m only using one brake light switch.

Allen Caron

Bob
    Participant

@lrh

I think mine is the standard circa 1970 type with both switches, but I think only the forward one is connected/functional. Thought I had a picture of it from when I was trying to find out why I lost brake lights (loose switch connections), couldn’t locate that to be sure about the wiring.

edward ericson
    Participant

@edsnova

I consider the second one a spare. If the one you’re using ever fails, clean the terminals and plug in the other one.

newkitman
    Participant

@newkitman