Electrical Help

Home Forums MGTD Kit Cars VW Based Kits Electrical Help

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Vicenç Feliú
    Keymaster

@sabreur76

I have a really minor problem but I have no real experience with electrical problems so I am asking for ideas.  

Saturday morning we took Montse out for a long drive (out to New Castle, DE) and she did really well.  However, on the way back we stopped for lunch and about twenty minutes into our stop the horn just went off.  Not knowing what to do I just disconnected one of the wires leading to the horn.  I tried changing fuse, the extend of my capacity here, but no change.

Does anyone have any ideas of what I might try to do next?
    Thanks in advance for your help! 

Vicenç - (bee sense)
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    1986 Aston - BCW Model 52 - "Montse II"

(1983 FiberFab MiGi II - "Montse")

Peter C. King
    Participant

@bdriver

Vincec,

Having the horn go off at a lunch stop is better than in traffic.

You have either a frayed wire that is now completing the horn circuit or a stuck horn button. It’s hard to ground a circuit on a fiberglass car. I’m betting on the horn button. Disconnect the wires from the button, reconnect the horn and touch the button wires together. If the horn goes off buy a new horn button. If the horn starts blaring when you reconnect the horn then follow the wires and look for a frayed spot.  If the horn stops blowing when you move the wire, wrap the frayed spot in electrical tape and figure out a way to secure the wore away from whatever rubbed through it.

Parts stores sell a variety of horn buttons. This one goes for $4.55.

Horn Button Switch And Wire

Vicenç Feliú
    Keymaster

@sabreur76

Thanks, Peter.  I’m pretty sure it’s not the horn button, that is one of the things that had to be replaced to get the thing inspected.  So I am going to disconnect the wires from the button, reconnect the horn, and see what happens.  Then I will go from there.